The osCommerce .htaccess hack that I wrote about here and here is still quite prevalent.
Some webmasters have problems locating the rogue .htaccess files so I decided to address this issue again.
Continue (some new facts included) »»
This is the time of the year when online sellers do their best to attract herds of holiday shoppers. Software pirates are no different. They offer huge discounts (up to 95%) for popular and expensive software products and provide user-friendly online stores. They even made their sites one step closer to you!
Continue »»
A year ago I blogged about how hackers managed to hijack hundreds of high-profile websites to make them promote online stores that sold pirated software at about 5-10% of a real cost. They used quite a standard scheme that involved cloaking (making spammy links visible only to search engine crawlers) and conditional redirects (visitors from search engines who clicked on specifically-crafted links on compromised sites got redirected to online stores of software pirates)
Despite of all my warnings, most of those site are still hacked and help sell pirated software and steal credit card numbers. This negligence of site/server administrators encouraged cyber criminals to step even further in abusing reputation and resources of compromised servers. This post will be about one of such steps.
Continue »»
Having read the Sucuri’s article about the kirm-sky .ru attack, I decided to complement it with my own information.
I started to track this website infection back in April. It has been active all these months.
Continue »»
EMI Music is one of the world’s leading music companies with many successful record labels and signed popular artists that include The Beatles, Depeche Mode, Gorillaz, Iron Maiden, Kylie Minogue, Pink Floyd, Queen, Snoop Dogg and many more. They have their own web hosting subsidiary EMIHosting.com that provides web space for EMI’s websites and many official websites of EMI artists.
In the beginning of this September EMI Hositng.com was attacked by hackers. As a result more than a hundred websites on a server with IP address of 195 .225 .83 .57 have been infected with a malicious iframe. Google’s diagnostics page for AS34401 (EMIMUSICGROUP) says:
Continue »»